Portal de Cartagena

Cartagena  - SpanishCartagena  - English
detail of Cartagena


Antonio López rises with the victory of the X Grand Trophy Spar 'Ciudad de Cartagena' of sailing (11/02/2019)

The past 8, 9 and 10 February was celebrated in the Port of Cartagena the X edition of the Grand Trophy Spar 'City of Cartagena' Optimist class 2019, organized by the Real Club de Regatas de Cartagena in collaboration with the Department of Sports of the City of Cartagena.

The tests corresponding to the first day of the X Grand Trophy Spar 'Ciudad de Cartagena' on Friday were canceled due to lack of wind.

The scarce three knots of intensity with which the wind of lebeche blew were insufficient in the opinion of the Committee of Regatas to give exit to the three tests foreseen for today Friday.

Since midday the 140 registered young sailors waited without fortune in the facilities of the Cartagena club, being placed for the day of Saturday and continue with the planned program.

The sailors, technicians and companions of the dozen of clubs of all Spain took advantage of the cancellation of the sport tests to visit our city, enjoying the sun and the pleasant temperatures.

The second day, which started at 12 noon, put some of the favorites of the Optimist class in Spain in the lead.

The organization was able to complete three sleeves, thanks to the southwest wind that started at noon with only 5 knots of intensity, but increased to reach 9 knots as the afternoon progressed.

All this made the competition gain interest for the 140 registered sailors.

For its part, on the day of Sunday that put an end to the competition, the sailors took advantage of the mild southwest wind that blew in the middle of the morning.

Although the first test had to be canceled in the absence of wind, the day ended early in the afternoon and, finally, the awards ceremony took place at 5:00 pm in the Club de Regatas with the assistance of the mayor, Ana Belén Castejón.

The final classification was as follows:

First place: Antonio López Martínez, from the Real Club Náutico de Torrevieja

Second Place: Nacho Gambín Pérez, from the Mar Menor Nautical Club

Third Place: Jaime Conesa Ortiz, of the Real Club de Regatas de Cartagena

Source: Ayuntamiento de Cartagena

UNE-EN ISO 9001:2000 - ER-0131/2006 © 2019 Alamo Networks S.L. - C/Alamo 8, 30850 Totana (Murcia) Privacy policy - Legal notice Región de Murcia
Este sitio web utiliza cookies para facilitar y mejorar la navegación. Si continúas navegando, consideramos que aceptas su uso. Más información